jenrgw Will New Jersey’s Distracted Driving Penalties Get Tougher?

If some New Jersey Senators have their way, the penalties for distracted driving will be enhanced.  New Jersey Senate Bill No. 2181 of 2010 would increase the fines for talking on a hand held cell phone or texting and driving.  If passed into law, this bill would provide for graduated penalties for those found to be talking on a hand held cell phone or texting and driving.  Specifically:

  • First time offenders would see fines raised from $100 to $200;
  • Second time offenders would face a $400 fine; and
  • Third time offenders would face a $600 fine and 90 day license suspension.

This bill is out of committee and awaiting consideration by the full Senate. If you wish to make your opinion known about this potential change to New Jersey distracted driving laws, please contact your state senator to voice your opinion.

Featured Articles:


    Fatal error: Call to undefined function fetch_rss() in /home/content/13/5763913/html/PREVENT-DISTRACTED-DRIVING/wp-content/themes/Quadro/single.php on line 121