jenrgw Alabama Becomes 38th State to Ban Texting and Driving

Last week Alabama became the most recent state to pass a law banning texting while driving. The law makes Alabama the 38th state to ban texting and driving and it will go into effect on August 1, 2012. The Alabama law will make it illegal to write, send or read a text message, instant message or email while driving. It will remain legal to send messages via voice activated technology while driving and there are exceptions to the law.

Drivers caught texting, emailing, or instant messaging while driving will receive a $25 fine for their first offense, a $50 fine for their second offense and a $75 fine for each subsequent offense. Additionally, two points will be put on a driver’s license for each offense.

Do you think the Alabama texting and driving law goes far enough? Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

Featured Articles:


    Fatal error: Call to undefined function fetch_rss() in /home/content/13/5763913/html/PREVENT-DISTRACTED-DRIVING/wp-content/themes/Quadro/single.php on line 121